Premier Winde deeply honoured to be re-elected to lead Western Cape Government

13 June 2024

Today, 13 June 2024, Premier Alan Winde was re-elected to lead the Western Cape Government (WCG) for another 5-year term.

Premier Winde was formally re-elected at the first sitting of the 7th administration of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP), where the Speaker and Deputy Speaker were also officially elected.

Premier Winde said, “It is a profound honour and privilege that I have been given. In my first term of office, we achieved so much in our efforts to address the wicked problems facing this province, but I know that many of those still remain. As I crisscrossed this province I saw how many of our residents are struggling and the responsibility that we as government have to step in and provide that critical social safety net for each of them. I owe it to you our residents to work even harder as I lead this government once more.”

He stated, “We are still faced with massive challenges but with help of my Cabinet, the WCG team and the residents of this great province, we can fulfil the pledges we have made to keep growing our economy, enabling more jobs, making our province energy secure and a dignified place where all residents have the opportunities  and support that they need to thrive.”

The Premier thanked every single resident for the confidence and trust they have shown in him and the provincial government he leads.

“To my family,” the Premier continued, “you have made exceptional sacrifices. Thank you for your unwavering support over the past 5 years. You give me the strength and love I need to fulfil my duty to the residents of the Western Cape. To the staff in my office, my work-family, thank you for your support to me and more importantly for all the hard work you will do for me and our residents over the next five years.”

To the opposition in the WCPP, he urged members to work with the WCG in the interests of all residents. “In all our debates and discussions I know that we are all guided by our commitment to put our  residents first. We must ensure that the members of this Parliament do what is expected of them: serve the people with humility and dignity. I look forward to a creating a constructive and robust relationship will all members of this parliament. You have a vital role to fill in holding the provincial government to account, and we welcome your oversight and input so we can continue to build a government which our residents trust,” he said.